Club Notes 5th May

Monday, May 5, 2014

There was no Match 4 winner of the Club Lotto on Friday, 2nd May  when the numbers drawn were 9, 13, 16 and 24 so next week, the jackpot goes up to €7,700.  If you're not already signed up please do so as not only are you in with a chance to win a serious Jackpot but you are also helping support your local club. It is €2 per week but goes a long way towards running all the facilities that we have. Peter Duff wins the Lucky Dip and will receive €25. Further details are available at

Disciplinary Appeal
Following on from the sending off of Jim Doyle in the Senior County Hurling Final last year Bray Emmets appealed the referee's decision.  Following a meeting last week of the County Disciplinary Committee the rescinded the referee's decision to award the red card and exonerated Jim.  We are delighted for Jim with that news as we felt all along that the card had been awarded incorrectly.  

Junior Hurling

Emmet Bhré  4-18 Western Gaels  1-5.
The Junior hurlers met Western Gaels in their opening league game of the summer. Numbers were very healthy with a travelling squad of 25 players. Minor player, Conor McNally made some fine saves with Bray posting 3-8 by half-time. Luke O'Reilly played a Captain's role in the second half, supported by the scoring abilities of Bill Moorehouse and David Ebbs. Particular mention to the full-back line, where Billy Brazil and Enda McHugh did well. Bhí an-áthas ar an mbainisteoir gur thaistil 25 imreoir ar an oíche.  
Foireann : Conor McNally, Billy Brazil, Enda McHugh, Ryan Tynan, Shane Anders, Sean Maloney, Danny Eglington, Barry Cowan, Michael Walsh (0-1), Alan Sweeney, Enda Ó Maolmhuaidh, Luke O'Reilly (Captaen, 2-2), Jordan Lee (0-1), Craig Brack-Sinnott, David Ebbs (1-1), Colin Salmon, Daniel Kennedy, Bill Moorehouse (1-8), John Ward, William Robinson (0-4), Cathal Reddin, Robbie Mason (0-1), Paul Barry, Conor O'Doherty, Jonathan Tymlin. Bainisteoir –  John Ward.

Under 14 Hurling

The Under 14 hurlers competed in the Wicklow Féile final against Carnew on Wed 30th April in Pearse Park. This short, thirty minute match was an all-action, full-blooded affair. Carnew hit the ground running in every sense. As one Bray mentor remarked, their pursuit of breaking ball resembled greyhounds chasing a rabbit. Ciarán McKay and Donnchadh Griffin-Carroll worked hard to stem the tide, as did the speedy, courageous Andrew Conway.  In the second-half, Cian Lohan created chances and Rory Lambe did his best amid very tight, tough marking. However, the 5 point gap could not be bridged. All hands were to the pump for the tense concluding minutes, but a relieved Carnew were the deserving winners on this occasion. 
Good news did follow later that evening, when we heard that Wicklow were being allowed to enter 2 teams into this summer's Féile. Tagann an ghrian i ndiaidh na fearthainne.  
Foireann: Macdara Ó Midheach, Lochlann Dougan, Donnchadh Griffin-Carroll, Ciarán McKay (Captaen), Gavin Henderson, Sid Hunt, Ronan McMahon, Ben Kearney, James Anders (0-2f), David Maloney, Joe Phelan, Andrew Conway, Rory Lambe, Cian Lohan, Andrew O'Brien, Tony Jackson, Michael Timmons, Rian Knox, Seán McDonagh, David Kennedy, David Nesbitt. Bainisteoir - Séamus Phelan.