Bray Emmets Dinner Dance

Monday, March 25, 2013

For the first time, the Clubhouse at Páirc Emmet Bhré hosted the Bray Emmets Dinner Dance on Saturday, 23rd March. Well over one hundred Club members packed into the venue, where the gym area had been transformed thanks to the efforts of an army of volunteers who worked tirelessly to get everything in order beforehand. The Club was honoured with the presence of the Leas Cathaoirleach of the County Board Martin Fitzgerald who addressed the gathering after dinner. Martin was a busy man on the night as he presented medals to the victorious Emmets teams for 2012. Up first, Michael O’Byrne's Minor Hurlers who captured yet another Minor Championship title for the Club. After dinner, medals were presented to the Junior Footballers who won the Junior C Championship and the Junior Hurlers who took honours in Junior B competition. Finally, Tom Walsh presented the Senior Hurlers with their Leinster Hurling League medals won back in May 2012. Individual player award winners on the night were as follows: 

Junior Footballer of the Year - Geoff Morrissey;
Junior Hurler of the Year - Billy Brazil;
Senior Ladies Footballer of the Year - Pamela McDermott;
Senior Footballer of the Year - Conor Power;
Senior Hurler of the Year - John Henderson. 

Well done to all concerned as these awards were very much deserved. Finally, Club Chairman, Dermot O Brien introduced the last award, Club Person of the Year.  This year's winner was Pat Lee. In introducing him, Dermot paid tribute the Pat's hard work and dedication to the Club, particularly his promotion of hurling in Bray Emmets. Congratulations to Pat and his family on this special award.  After the awards ceremony, the dancing and partying got underway and continued into the wee hours. 
The Club would like to thank all the volunteers who assisted in arranging the event but a special word of praise must be reserved for chief organiser Will Nolan who went to great lengths to ensure all who attended had a great night. Thank you Will!