Kick Fada

Thursday, September 13, 2012

The Kick Fada will take place on the 15th September 2012 at Old Conna. Further information regarding the kickers who will be participating is detailed in the further down this piece. We will also have U16 Hurling and Camogie tournaments a mini all ireland, stalls, food and lots more.  The ladies competition starts at 1.15pm whilst the men's competition starts at 2.00pm. We would look to all the club members to support us on this annual club day.

Many of the country's leading GAA stars will line up on Saturday next in Bray Emmets for the 13th annual All Ireland Kick Fada competition at Old Conna (1.15pm start)

There have been a number of great champions in the history of the competition with Mark Herbert (Kildare) leading the way with four titles to his credit. Offaly's Padraig Kelly was a double winner in his time and both will be seeking to make history by returning this weekend to claim the top prize.

Last year Monaghan's Shane Duffy came through a crowded pack to claim the ultimate honour but Wicklow pair Tony Hannon and Conor McGraynor showed enough form on their debut performances to suggest that they might be even closer this time around.

McGraynor is a prodigious kicker from the hand but Hollywodd star Hannon is a lethal deadball kicker who on his day is more than capable to bringing the All Ireland home to Wicklow for the first time.

The star-studded list which will once again feature Dublin's Mark Vaughan and Armagh's Paul Hearty, as well as the three Sheridans - Meath brothers Joe and Brian, and Longford's Damien.

Wicklow will also make a big effort to strike gold in the Ladies competition with a number of members of the high-flying county team expected to take part.

Only once in the history of the competition has the All Ireland medal stayed in Wicklow. That occurred in the first year -2000- when Aine McGillycuddy from An Tochar emerged victorious in the ladies competition.

Speaking at the launch of this year's competition, Emmets Chairperson Frances Stephenson paid tribute to MBNA for the sponsorship over the past 12 years and explained that when they pulled out of it this year, she was determined that the Emmets club would still run the event.

"What we are talking about is an All Ireland senior football competition in Wicklow on an annual basis and I think it is something we should fight to keep on the GAA calendar."

The club is hopeful that they will be able to source a new sponsor for the event for next year and are most happy to hear from any businesses inside the county who might be interested in the association which carries a lot of national profile and coverage.

The Kick Fada determines who is the longest and most accurate kicker of a Gaelic football in Ireland. Competitors must kick the ball over the bar through specific competition goalposts twice the width of conventional goal sizes.

Explaining the considerable interest in the All Ireland Kick Fada competition among established GAA inter-county stars, competition organiser Pat Wogan of Bray Emmets said: "For the past dozen years a huge array of inter-county stars have taken part annually in the competition. Ultimately, any player at inter-county level is a serious competitor at heart and the opportunity to test the core skill of kicking a Gaelic football against top quality opposition in a novel fashion becomes addictive. Last year , we had players from over 15 counties represented and our aim is to have every county in Ireland represented."

The ladies event begins at 1.15 pm with the Men's Final due to kick-off at 2.00pm. As part of the activity at the Old Conna Grounds on Saturday, there will be a hurling mini All Ireland blitz

List of Kickers in 2012 All Ireland Kick Fada


Shane Duffy (Monaghan) HOLDER

Tony Hannon (Wicklow)

Mark Vaughan (Dublin)

Dick Clerkin (Monaghan)

Ross Munnelly (Laois)

John Doyle (Kildare)

Conor McGraynor (Wicklow)

Stephen Carton (Wicklow)

Paul Finlay (Monaghan)

Padraig Kelly (Offaly)

Paddy O'Rourke (Meath)

Felim O'Rourke (Meah)

Joe Sheridan (Meath)

Brian Sheridan (Meath)

Paul Flood (Kildare)

Mark Herbert (Kildare)

Shane Nallen (Mayo)

Gerry McGill (Donegal)

Paul Broderick (Carlow)

Paul Hearty (Armagh)

Damien Sheridan (Longford)

Sean Connolly (Louth)



Irene Munnelly (Meath) HOLDER

Kim Flood (Dublin)

Mary Sheridan (Meath)

Grainne Nulty (Meath)

Geraldine Norton (Wicklow)

Emer Miley (Wicklow)

Aideen Lenihan (Wicklow)




The champion male and female kickers receive the Kick Fada All Ireland medal as well as holiday vouchers with the overall winning kicker receiving the Bray Emmets All Ireland Champion Trophy.

The Kick Fada record, which stands at 73 metres, was achieved by four time champion Mark Herbert from Kildare. Suzanne Hughes from Ballyboden St Endas GAA Club holds the all time female record of 52m from back in 2001.


Past champions


Male Champion

Female champion


Shane Duffy

Irene Munnelly


Damien Sheridan

Mary Sheridan


Brian Sheridan

Suzanne Hughes


Paul Hearty

Mary Sheridan


John Brennan

Irene Munnelly


Fintan Ruddy

Gillian Bennett


Padraig Kelly

Irene Munnelly


Padraig Kelly

Grainne Nulty


Mark Herbert

Mary Sheridan


Mark Herbert

Vourneen Quigley


Mark Herbert

Suzanne Hughes


Mark Herbert

Aine McGillycuddy