The Annual Dinner Dance and Presentation night 2009

Monday, February 23, 2009

There was a very good attendance in the Esplanade hotel on Friday night for the Annual Dinner Dance and Presentation. There was general agreement that the night was a great success with accolades to the Hotel for a very good meal and a well presented room and to Brendan Kennedy and his Band who were responsible for many a sore muscle on Saturday morning after dancing into the early hours. Our MC, PJ Cunningham, gave his usual polished performance and kept the proceeding moving.

Thanks to all concerned for a very good night.

The guests of honour were Des Beurton and his wife Josephine who represented the County Board and who responded to the Gerard Murphy's address with some well chosen and supportive words from the County Board. The two Club Presidents Jackie Napier and Tom Walsh also attended and presented some of the awards. There was a warm welcome for Seamus McCormack - Manager of the winning minor team of 25 years ago who later on enjoyed a lot of time on the dance floor.

A main aspect of the night was the presentation of awards for key contributors to the club during the year as players, mentors or organisers. The  recipients of the awards were:

Club Person of the year - Gabriel Plower & Tom Kearney for their wonderful work with the Academy.

Special Award for 25 years refereeing in Wicklow - Tony McLaughlin;

Bray Emmets Player of the Year 2008;

Minor Hurling - Gearoid Ó Murchú

Junior Hurler - Owen Brazil

Senior Hurler - Liam Kenny

Ladies Football - Sheena Smith

Minor Football - Cailean Murphy

Junior Football - Jonathan Scanlon

Intermediate Football - Maurice Doyle

Senior Football - Jonathan Kinch

Presentation of Medals -

The Minor Hurlers and footballers received medals for winning their respective County Championships

The Senior ladies received their medals for winning the Wicklow League and Senior B Championship.

Congratulations to all.