Match Report: Minor Hurling

10 November, 2013

After negotiating the Group phase of the competition with relative ease, the Bray Emmets Minor Hurlers resumed their championship campaign with a comfortable semi-final victory over Glenealy on Sunday, 10th November in Aughrim. The Reds opened the scoring with a free in front of the posts but Bray’s response was immediate with both Ben Mac Cormaic and Cathal Mac Aodh firing over excellent points. After these scores, Emmets settled into the game and stretched their lead with a goal with one of the best moves of the match. From a puck out, Daire Henderson won possession in the middle and sent in a low ball to Matt Thompson who fed the oncoming Cathal Mac Aodh who rifled it to the net. Bray were now beginning to dominate and pushed on with points from Lennon, Lohan and Ben Mac Cormaic. Another goal, this time Marc Lennon stealing in at the back post to finish, meant that at that the half-time break, Emmets were leading by 2-9 to 0-4.
In a display of focus and determination, Bray were out on the pitch early to resume the second half and started in a similar fashion with points from the Mac Cormaic brothers, Ben and Eoin. Captain Marc Lennon, now operating at full-forward, effectively ended the game as a contest when he raised another green flag, his second of the day, with another trademark finish. At this point, Emmets introduced a number of substitutes who all contributed to a fine win. Final Score: Bray Emmets 3-15 Glenealy 0-8.
Although the conditions meant it was a day for forwards, credit must go to the Bray defence which stood firm whenever called upon. The County Final against Carnew Emmets is fixed for Sunday, 17th November and we hope that once again, the players and management will be well supported as we look to retain our Minor Championship title.
Emmet Bhré: Dylan Terry, Donnchadh O Midheadh, Ryan Tynan, Shane Anders, Sean Maloney, Peter Conroy, Ishmael Mnensa, Eoin Mac Cormaic (0-3), Daire Henderson, Marc Lennon (2-1), Matt Thompson, Ben Mac Cormaic (0-8), Cathal Mac Aodh (1-1), Pauric Doyle, Shane Lohan (0-2)
Substitutes: Conor Doherty, Bill Moorehouse, Patrick Cunningham, Conor McNally, Daniel Kennedy, Michael Burton, Liam Morgan