Minor Hurlers claim county Championship

2 December, 2012

Bray Emmets 2-9 Glenealy 2-8

The Minor Hurling County Championship Final Replay between Bray Emmets and Glenealy took place at 11.30 a.m. last Sunday, 2nd December in Pearse Park, Arklow with Bray emerging as champions after Eoin McCormack struck the winning point from play on the stroke of full time. Bray had started the match on fire and had two early points from Cathal O'Duilleachain and Mark Lennon.  Gleneaiy responed by scoring a goal when Gavin Weir blocked down Ryan Tynans clearance and finished well to the net. However, Bray went back on the attack and a point from a close in free from Cian O'Byrne brought the sides level. Bray attacked again and Jim Doyle fired home a great goal after the Glenealy keeper had saved initially. Bray then added another point from an O'Byrne free and a point from play by Eoin McCormack. Coming up to half time Bray led 2-5 to 1-5 when a free from the 40 by O'Byrne dropped short and despite the Glenealy defenders valiant efforts the ball hit the net. Shortly afterwards, Diarmuid Masterson delivered a long range 65 over the bar to leave Bray four points to the good 2-6 to 1-5 at half time.

The second half opened well for Bray who scored a long range free from Masterson and things were looking good. However Glenealy were tipping away at the frees and scored a goal when Danny Staunton doubled on a ball which went into the net off Tynans hand as he tried to save it. It was now game on; Bray 2-7, Glenealy 2-6. Gavin Weir pointed a free to level the game and though Bray responded with another O'Byrne free , Glenealy came back to level it once again. Bray still dominated and had a few chances from frees mostly long range but it fell to McCormack to send the winner over his shoulder for victory.

On the day, Bray Emmets were the better team, creating chances and registering more scores from play. The champions were best served by Daire Lohan, Cathal O'Duilleachain, Diarmuid Masterson, Cian O'Byrne, Sean Maloney and Eoin McCormack. The four sets of brothers, Doyles, Maloneys, Lohans and McCormacks all finished the game on the field. At centre forward, our youngest player Padraig Doyle -15 years old this month - kept the ball moving well all day.

Every single member of the panel deserves praise but a special mention goes to Peter Conroy who had a great game in the drawn final but got a shoulder injury playing for the Presentation College football team during the week and missed the replay. Thanks also to all the supporters who travelled from Bray.

The Tom Cooney Cup was presented by Tom's son to the proud Bray Captain Luke Maloney. The man of the match award went to Diarmuid Masterson who struck the ball really well all day, scoring long range points in very poor conditions. Luke Maloney was also named Minor Hurler of the Year in Wicklow.

Bray Emmets: Ryan Tynan, Sean Maloney, Daire Henderson, Ben McCormack, Ishmael Mnesa, Luke Maloney, Enda O'Maolmhuidh, Daire Lohan, Cathal O'Duilleachain (0-1), Mark Lennon (0-1), Padraig Doyle, Cian O'Byrne (1-3), Diarmuid Masterson (0-2), Jim Doyle (1-0), Eoin McCormack (0-2), Matthew Thompson, Shane Lohan, Shane Anders, Donacha O'Midheach, Peter Conroy.

Mentors: Michael O'Byrne, Chris Masterson ably assisted by Padraig Lohan, Pat Lee and Niall McCarthy who managed the successful U-16 Hurling Champions.