Minor Hurlers have to do it all again

25 November, 2012

Bray 1 -7, Glenealy 1 -7

The Minor Hurling County A Championship Final between Bray Emmets and Glenealy was played in Pearse Park, Arklow on Sunday, 25th November in atrocious conditions with heavy rain and biting cold making a pitch, which was already water logged in the goal mouths, almost impossible to play on. Both teams gave their best and Glenealy went into an early lead thanks to the free taking of Gavin Weir. Bray got back into the game with a fine point from Eoin Mc Cormack, two frees from Cian O'Byrne and a scrambled goal finished in the mud by a few players. Padraig Doyle scored a great point after a cross field pass from Daire Lohan. Bray lead at half time 1-4 to 0-4.
The weather was deteriorating all the time and in the second half there was stalemate with points being exchanged. Going in to the last ten minutes Bray led 1-6 to 0-6 after a fine run and score by Cathal O'Duilleachain. However, a scrambled goal, again in the same muddy goalmouth, led to Glenealy drawing level. Bray responded with a fine point from Diarmuid Masterson to be ahead going into injury time.
Ryan Tynan had a great day between the posts with some fine saves and our backs did really well in the testing conditions. We struggled up front but were on top most of the game and deserved to win but the minor championship being played at this time of year is a lottery, with frees being decisive and the referee has a huge influence on the outcome.
The official added time to be played was two minutes but instead, the referee played six and a half minutes and blew up as Glenealy scored the levelling point from a free, leaving us the same as last year. It is very late in the year and there are only four teams in this championship and yet we are still playing going into December. The Minor B Final, fixed as a curtain-raiser to our match, was not played as Carnew conceded to Greystones. Last week Greystones conceded a walkover to Glenealy so overall, it does not make a good picture for Minor Hurling in the county.

Bray Emmets: Ryan Tynan, Sean Maloney, Daire Henderson, Peter Conroy, Ishmael Mnesa, Luke Maloney, Enda O Maolmhuidh , Cathal O'Duileachain (0-1), Ben Mc Cormack, Daire Lohan, Padraigh Doyle (0-1), Cian O'Byrne(0-3), Diarmuid Masterson (0-1), Jim Doyle, Eoin Mc Cormack (0-1), Donnacha O'Midheach, Shane Lohan, Shane Anders, Matthew Thompson, Marc Lennon.