Minor Hurling Champions 2009

19 October, 2009

Minor Hurling Champions 2009 

Congratulations to our minor hurling team - 2009 A Championship winners. They played before the senior hurling final in Aughrim on Sunday beating Glenealy very decisively. The Glenealy team came on to the pitch as favourites but an all round excellent performance gave the Bray team the championship title for the 5th time in six years. Half time score gave Bray an eight-point lead with 13 points to 1:2 for Glenealy. At the start of the second half Glenealy appeared to dominate initially but that was short lived. The final score was Bray Emmets 3:18 Glenealy 1:7. Man of the match was Bray's captain Tom Cash.

Many thanks to all the Bray supporters - those who attended the match and the many text messages that came through just before the match.

The Bray Emmet Minor Hurling Team: Peter O'Reilly, Enda Ó Maolmhuaidh, Cillian Ó Maolmhuaidh, Dara Maloney, Luke O'Reilly, Hugh Douglas, Harry Stephenson, Owen Brazil, Arran Murphy (1:0), Nicholas Sweeney(0:1), Arran Shortt, Ronan Cunningham (0:1), Michael Lee(1:2), Tom Cash, Capt. (0:12), John Henderson (1:2) Subs: Chris Lyons for Luke O'Reilly,  Pierce Sweeney for Chris Lyons, Niall McCague for Dara Maloney, Patrick O'Toole for Nicholas Sweeney, Matthew Keating for Aaron Shortt. Emmet Fitzgerald. Team Manager: Michael Cash, Mentors: Gerard Murphy, Frances Stephenson, Pat Lee