Minor Football Championship

24 September, 2013

In front of a vociferous and enthusiastic support, Bray Emmets progressed to the Minor Football Championship County Final after a superb win over Blessington on Tuesday, 24th September at Newtown’s GAA Grounds. These two sides had already locked horns in an entertaining encounter in the Group stages when Emmets had emerged victorious and from the throw-in, it was obvious that Blessington were determined to avenge that defeat. They raced into an early three point lead as Bray struggled to cope with the greasy conditions. After surviving this opening blitz, Bray eventually settled into the game and the direct running of our forwards began to cause the Blessington defence lots of problems. Ben Mac Cormaic’s and Marc Lennon’s speed down the left flank meant that often, the boys in blue and white hoops had no other option than to drag them to the ground, resulting in Bray opening their account with two frees. Points were exchanged and both sides hit the crossbar before Blessington were reduced to fourteen men for a second yellow card. Bray took full advantage of the dismissal with Gavin Dowling finding the net and Daire Henderson scoring a fine long range point and at the break, Emmets led by 1-4 to 0-5.
With Seanie Maloney deployed as the extra man and hoovering up any ball that went into the Blessington full-forward line, Bray hit a purple patch at the beginning of the second half. They dominated the exchanges and points from Cathal McGee, Gavin Dowling and Marc Lennon stretched their lead before Lennon bravely finished to the net. Six points and one man to the good, it looked like Emmets had one foot in the Final but Blessington, to their credit, never gave up and laid siege to the Bray goal as the game drew to a close. The final whistle sparked great scenes of celebration as Bray held on to the win on a scoreline of Bray Emmets 2-9 Blessington 0-11. 
Emmet Bhré: Padraig Doyle, Sean O’Connor, Shane Lohan, Seanie Maloney, Dylan Terry, Ishe Mnensa, Peter Conroy, Matt Thompson, Eoin Mac Cormaic, Daire Henderson (0-1), Dunni O’Mideach, Ben Mac Cormaic (0-1), Cathal McGee (0-2) (1 free), Gavin Dowling (1-3) (3 frees), Marc Lennon (1-2).
Substitutes: Patrick Cunningham, Dan Cody, Paul Moran, Hugh Armstrong, Shane Anders, Ryan Ashworth, Conor O’Doherty, Ciaran Browne, Jack Doyle Rennix.
Management: Paddy Moynihan, Paul Barry, Matt Thompson Snr.
Bray Emmets will now face St. Patrick’s Wicklow in the County Final and we hope that all Club members will be in Aughrim to support the boys.