Minor Football Championship County Final Replay

27 October, 2013

Unfortunately, Bray Emmets tasted defeat in a County Final for the second week running after our Minor Footballers lost to St. Patrick’s Wicklow in the replayed County Final on Sunday, 27th October in Aughrim. The game was played as a curtain raiser to the Senior Final between Rathnew and Baltinglass and both games will be remembered for their dramatic finishes.
Emmets stormed into an early lead thanks to a goal from Marc Lennon and aided by a strong breeze, further points were added by Eoin Mac Cormaic and Cathal McGee who raised the white flag three times. A four point half-time lead was being whittled down when Daire Henderson weaved his way through the St. Pats defence to score a fantastic goal. Cathal McGee added to his tally twice and Marc Lennon popped over a free but the sides could not be separated at the end of normal time; Bray Emmets 2-7 St. Patricks 1-10.
In extra-time, Cathal McGee pointed again before Dunni O Midheach found the net and the Bray supporters were now dreaming of lifting the cup. The inevitable siege to the Emmets goal materialised in the second half of extra-time as St. Pats used the wind to their advantage and agonisingly, the winner came right at the death leaving Bray with little chance to respond. It was an absolutely heartbreaking  way to lose and the fact that both games were superb displays of football at it’s best will be of little consolation to Paddy Moynihan and his squad. However, everyone in the Club is extremely proud of the team and we know that this group of players will eventually get the success they deserve.
Emmet Bhré: Padraig Doyle, Sean O’Connor, Shane Lohan, Seanie Maloney, Dylan Terry, Ishe Mnensa, Peter Conroy, Matt Thompson, Eoin Mac Cormaic, Daire Henderson, Dunni O’Mideach, Ben Mac Cormaic, Cathal McGee, Gavin Dowling, Marc Lennon. Substitutes: Patrick Cunningham, Dan Cody, Ciaran Barnes, Paul Moran, Hugh Armstrong, Shane Anders, Ryan Ashworth, Conor O’Doherty, Ciaran Browne, Jack Doyle Rennix.
Management: Paddy Moynihan, Paul Barry, Matt Thompson Snr.