Wicklow U16 Football League Div 1

2 April, 2016

The U16 footballers made it two wins out of two in the county league. They had beaten Newtown/Kilcoole  by eleven points ( 5-9 0-13) in their first match and continued on their winning ways with a seven point victory over the west wicklow opposition.

Blessington opened the scoring with a point almost straight from the throw in. However, Bray settled down to play some exciting attacking football. MacDara O'Midheach opened the scoring with a well taken point and shortly afterwards was on the end of a fine passing movement to drive the ball to the back of the net. This signalled a period of  Bray Emmets dominance and further goals were added by Andrew Conway and Cian Lohan. By half time all six forwards had put their names on the scoresheet. However the intensity dropped before half time and Blessington scored two soft goals to leave a gap of six points at the break.

The problems continued in the second half and with ten minutes to go the gap was down to two points. But the Bray Emmets lads finished strongly - a goal from Cian Lohan after a great run by Mick O'Gara helped settle them down and they were seven points ahead at the final whistle.

In defence corner backs Andrew O'Brien and Rory Whelan marshalled their men well with Sid Hunt doing well in the unfamiliar position of full back. The half back line of Joe Phelan, Ben Kearney and Darragh Rochford were excellent on the counter attack which meant they were involved in many of the moves that led to scores. Sam Kearney also slotted into the defence very well when introduced. All six forwards were outstanding as was Mick O'Gara when introduced. Nathan Murphy played some great football on his debut and MacDara's excellent free taking stood out on the night.

Next match will be a tougher encounter away to St Pats in Wicklow.

Team: Tony Jackson, Rory Whelan, Sid Hunt, Andrew O'Brien, Joe Phelan (Capt), Ben Kearney, Darragh Rochford, Ronan McMahon, Ciaran McKay(0-1), Conor Dowling(0-1), Andrew Conway(1-3), Nathan Murphy(0-2), Davy Maloney(0-1), Cian Lohan(2-1), MacDara O'Midheach(1-5), Mick O'Gara, Sam Kearney, Michael Timmons, Stephen Reynolds.