U 14 Football County Feile

15 March, 2014

The U14 footballers qualified for the next group stages of the 2014 Football Feile by comfortably winning their group yesterday in Ballinakill in fine but windy conditions. Eleven teams registered for the competition and Bray Emmets were drawn in Group 2 with Derry Gaels and AGB.

Their first match was against Derry Gaels and playing with a stiff breeze in their favour they came flying out of the blocks. Early goals from Ben Kearney and Mick O'Gara got the team off to a great start and they never looked back after that. They ran out comfortable winers on a scoreline of 7-9 to 0-1.

Highlights of the game were full forward Mick O'Gara's four goals, the work of his full forward line partners Jordan Temple and MacDara O'Mhideach, Andrew Conway's power house display in midfield and the industry of the half backline of Joe Phelan,Davey Maloney and Rory Whelan who excelled in his new role at centre back and also a magnificent long range point from Cian Lohan.

In the match vs AGB Bray Emmets had to play the first half into a stiff breeze. They played their best half of football of the day during this period moving the ball at pace and putting togethor some fine passing movements – a testimony to the hard work they have put in under coaches Niall McGraynor, Rory Breslin and Paul Barry.

The match finished 4-11 to 1-1 in Bray's favour. Highlights of this game were the brilliant corner back play of Andrew O'Brien with solid support from Sid Hunt and Donnchadh Griffin in the full back line, the dominance of Ciaran McKay in midfield and Darragh Rochford's five points from play in the first half.

Every player in the panel for the day contributed to fine performance. We will train twice this week before the next round next Saturday in Ballinakill.

Team; James Anders, Andrew O'Brien, Donnchadh Griffin, Sid Hunt, Joe Phelan, Rory Whelan, Davey Maloney, Ciaran McKay, Andrew Conway, Darragh Rochford, Cian Lohan, Ben Kearney, Jordan Temple, Mick O'Gara, MacDara O'Mhidheach, Tony Jackson, Josh Pyper, Blue Glennane, Gavin Henderson, Seanie McDonagh