Under 14 Football Championship Semi-Final

21 September, 2008

Bray Emmets 0-6 , St Nicholas 1-7.

Bray finished a long season in defeat at the semi final stage of the U14 Football Championship when going down with a battling performance after conceding a soft goal in the first minute. Bray could never get on terms and while they had some chances the bigger and stronger Nicholas team won out on the day. Bray fielded  seven U13 players in the starting 15.St Nicholas got their goal from the throw in when Bray failed to get clean possession and lost the ball twice before a hopping ball was not dealt with and the corner forward had the easy job of tapping the ball into the net.  Bray came back strongly and a fine move was finished by Dara Lohan for a point. Bray then had the move of the match when a  three man passing movement set Luke Maloney up for a goal but the keeper pulled off a great save and the ball went out for a 45 . We failed to score from the 45 but at half time we were still in the game with Nicholas ahead by 1-4 to 0-3.

Bray started the second half on fire and Luke Maloney kicked a fine point but Bray then struggled again and could not get the upper hand and were never closer than 3 points for the entire half. Muiris O'Floinn played well with Ben Mc Cormack, Mark Lennon and Dara Henderson coming into the game in the second half. Luke Maloney was our most dangerous forward while Craig Dowling did well in goal and could do nothing with the ball that beat him..

Overall we gave a gutsy display and everyone tried hard but we could never dominate and were never able to claw back the unfortunate goal at the beginning. Still we had a great year finishing top of Division 1 in the league. We used about 40 players a lot of 13 year olds and this should stand to the team for next years U14 Championships. Great credit is due to Chris Masterson who manages the team in both Hurling and Football as well as being a selector with the Wicklow U14 Hurling squad.

Bray:  Craig Dowling, Cathal O'Dulachain, Jim Doyle, Ben Mc Cormack, Luke Gorman, Diarmuid Masterson, Dara Henderson, Muiris O'Floinn, Andy Bartley, Mark Lennon, Enda Molloy, Danny O'Toole, Cian O'Byrne, Luke Maloney, Dara Lohan, Josh Connolly, Ryan Fagan, Stephen Kirwan, Ryan Tynan, Eoin Mc Cormack.