Under 12 Hurling

28 September, 2014

The under twelve hurling team played Kiltegan on Sunday last in Ballinakill in an under twelve county final. Bray started brightly with Sam and Philip playing well in midfield providing good ball in to a dangerous forward line of Brian, Gavin, Oscar, Peter and Jack. The backline led by Aaron, Tadhg, Sebastian, Zack and Luan kept many dangerous attacks at bay with Cathal very assured in goal. Bray were up by a couple of points at half time but knew that Kiltegan with their proud tradition in hurling would come back in the second half. True to predictions bray were under the cosh for the first ten minutes of the second half with heroic performances by Tadhg, Sebastian, Eoin, Ben and Aaron in the backline, Cathal's clearances took the pressure off the backline now working overtime. Sam and Philip were trying their best in a crowded midfield with the forward line of Brian, Conor, Jack Daniel and Daniel Munro always looking dangerous. 
Kiltegan to their credit kept going and were rewarded with two well taken goals to go ahead. A bullet of a goal by Sam towards the end had the result in doubt up to the final whistle but Kiltegan got the last score to win by two points to be victors on the day. 
Well done to Kiltegan to winning and especially the great second half fight back. Thanks to the Wicklow Coiste na nOg for arranging the finals and to Colm Gaskin who refereed the game in a fair manner. 
While a loss was our fate on the day the lads should be really proud of their performance not only in the final but throughout the season everyone got plenty of game time which is the most important thing on the day. There has been a huge improvement by this group and no doubt it will continue in 2015. The coaches would urge all the players to continue playing and practice, practice, practice over the winter so that the team will be suitably ready for the challenges next day year.
Team: Cathal, Tadhg, Aaron, Zack, Sebastian, Luan, Sam, Philip, Jack, Brian, Peter, Gavin, Oscar, Daniel F, Daniel M, Ben, Eoin, Conor.