U12 hurlers crowned county champions after extra time

21 September, 2013

On Saturday, 21st September, the coaches and spectators were treated to an epic hurling final in Arklow, contested between the Under-12’s from Bray Emmets and Avondale. The match started at a ferocious pace with all players from both sides fully committed. There was never more than a couple of scores between the teams and half-time saw the scores tied at 3-6 to 4-3. The tension was building throughout the second half and as the final whistle was about to be blown Avondale led by a point. Undaunted, Rory Lambe lined up a free from out wide and with unnerving accuracy put the ball between the posts as the whistle sounded (5-9 to 6-6). A further 10 minutes (2x5) was required so out the lads went and to a man they battled and contested every ball. Only two points were scored in extra time, both to Bray to leave the final score 5-11 to 6-6 and the cup with a journey to the north of the county. 
All of the players were immense, from Rian Knox in nets, Davy Maloney, Michael Timmons, Philip Jakob and Sean McDonagh battling and breaking down the Avondale attacks, Gavin Henderson, Brian Nesbitt and Jamie Baguley skilfully intercepting and moving the play from defence to attack, David Nesbitt and David Martin, Peter Aherne, Fionn Dougan, Conor Hardiman contesting for the ball up front. Rory Lambe operated in both midfield and up front with his sights so finely tuned that he hardly missed a shot ending with an amazing 2-6. A special mention must also go to Brian Nesbitt who along with Philip, Peter and Fionn from the 2002s ensured that next year the under 12s will be a force to be reckoned with. 
Final score: Bray Emmets 5-11, Avondale 6-6.
Emmet Bhré  - Under 12:  Brian Nesbitt (0-1) Conor Hardiman, Davy Maloney (0-1), David Nesbitt, David Martin (1-0), Fionn Dougan , Gavin Henderson (0-2), Jamie Baguley (0-1), Michael Timmons,  Peter Aherne, Philip Jakob, Rian Knox, Rory Lambe (2-6), Seán McDonagh. Bainisteoir - Brian Lambe.