Senior Footballers scrape through in championship opener

20 July, 2013

Bray Emmets Mens Senior Footballers kicked off their 2013 Senior Football Championship campaign last Saturday evening, 20th July, in Aughrim against Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney (AGB).  Bray had been hit hard with injuries with both Brian and John O’Keefe, along with Paul Cunningham all failing fitness tests before the game. The game was played in beautiful sunshine but with both teams having to deal with the heat. AGB took the first score, a point, but Bray replied almost immediately with a point from Liam McGraynor. Des Kelly and Jordan Egan also added a point each for Bray but despite having lots of possession and plenty of opportunities Bray could not take their scores. AGB got back into the game with two points before Niall McGraynor added a point just before half time so that Bray were lead 0-04 to AGB’s 0-03. 
Bray made a change a halftime with Adam Conway coming on for Jordan Egan and Conway had an immediate effect when he set up Niall McGraynor for a goal after two minutes after the restart. Unfortunately, after six minutes, Bray were reduced to fourteen men when John Breslin was sent to the line with a second yellow card. AGB took advantage of the extra man, adding four points to their tally without reply. Bray had plenty of chances but continued to add to their tally of wides. Adam Benson came on for Daire Lohan and Fergal Devlin switched with Des Kelly. With just five minutes left on the clock, Conor Flannery made a welcome return to Senior Championship Football and showed everybody how to take scores, scoring two points for Bray, AGB got a point with the last kick of the game but the final score was Bray Emmets 1-6 AGB 0-8. 
Emmet Bhré: Paul O’Keeffe, Eoin O’Dea, Conor Power, Sean O’Neill, Cormac Martin, Luke Benson, Ross McAnespie, Rory Breslin, John Breslin, Jordan Egan (0-01), Des Kelly (0-01), Mark Linehan, Liam McGraynor (0-01), Niall McGraynor (1-01), Daire Lohan, Stephen Carton, Adam Benson, Mark Nolan, Adam Conway, Cathal Feelly, Fergal Devlin, Conor Flannery (0-02), Niall McCague.