Goals seal it for Senior Footballers

30 April, 2013

On Tuesday, 30th April, the Senior Footballers played host to Ballinacor at Páirc Emmet Bhré in Round 6 of the Senior Football League. After a very disappointing result the previous week against neighbours Kilmacanogue, Bray were eager to get back on track despite having to do without some of their regular panel due to injuries and work commitments.
Bray started well, winning plenty of possession but the home team were unable to turn this into scores and so it was the visitors who got on the score board first with two points before Rory Breslin and Mark Linehan settled things down for Emmets with a goal each on 8 and 12 minutes.  Despite Ballinacor kicking a further two points, Bray were beginning to dominate and with a point each from Liam McGraynor, Adam Conway, John Breslin and two from Aaran Murphy, things were starting to look good for the home side. However, Ballinacor refused to give up and on 23 minutes had the ball in the Bray net. Des Kelly responded quickly for Bray with a well taken goal on 25 minutes only to have to be replaced a minute later with a hamstring problem by the ever lively Cathal O’Dúlacháin. Ballinacor got two more points, both from frees, before half-time to leave the score at the break Bray Emmets 3-05 Ballinacor 1-06.  
Within the first minute of play restarting, Bray’s Adam Conway raised the green flag for a goal to be followed six minutes later by Cathal O’Dúlacháin who added another to put the result beyond any doubt. While the visitors, who never gave up, did add another three points (all from frees) to their tally, Bray dominated the scoring with a point each from Brian O’Keeffe, Paul Cunningham, Liam McGraynor and another goal from Ross McAnespie. Fergal Devlin who had come on for Eoin O’Dea at corner back after 48 minutes had the final say for Bray with a well taken point. Final score: Bray Emmets 6-09 Ballinacor 1-09. 
On Friday next (10th May), Bray will have a much sterner test when they play host to last years championship finalists Baltinglass at 8.00 p.m. in Páirc Emmet Bhré so looking forward to seeing a big home crowd to give them as much support as possible. 
Emmet Bhré: Stephen Carton, Eoin O’Dea, Sean O’Neill, Adam Benson, Cormac Martin, Aaran Murphy (0-2), Ross McAnespie (1-0), John Breslin (0-1), Brian O’Keeffe (0-1), Des Kelly (1-0), Paul Cunningham (0-1), Liam McGraynor (0-2), Adam Conway (1-1), Rory Breslin (1-0), Mark Linehan (1-0), Subs: Paul O’Keeffe, Mark Nolan, Cathal O’Dúlacháin (1-0), Fergal Devlin (0-1).