Senior Football Championship - Bray Emmets 1-06 St. Patricks 1-13

14 September, 2008

A large crowd from Bray travelled to Aughrim to support the Senior Football team as they took on St. Patrick's (Wicklow) in the Semi-final of the Wicklow SFC.

Unfortunately Bray got off to a slow start and were quickly punished for some unforced errors by frees by county star Paul Earls. In wet and miserable conditions, Bray may have shown some nerves as hesitancy and handling errors allowed St. Pat's to mop up the spillages and build attacks through their dangerous midfield and half forward line into a full forward line with lots of space to play with. Two frees by Johnny Kinch were the only reward from early forays into the Pats half. Bray were rocked by an early injury to stalwart Brian O Keeffe who had to leave the field. The misery continued as St. Pat's lead by 0-10 to 0-02.

The second half saw a different Bray team emerge. More competitive and defensively tighter Bray took the game to St. Pat's. Tacking on a couple of points, Bray built a bit of momentum. Indeed if luck went their way, advantage would have been played as ThomaS Walsh found himself clear through on goal. Instead the referee blew his whistle for an earlier St. Pat's indiscretion leading to disgust (not for the first time) from the large Bray support. The intense pressure paid off however and Bray were rewarded with a goal scored by a brave diving fist from Paddy Moynihan. This brought the margin down to 3 points with 10 mins to go and a comeback looked to be on the cards. Again, Thomas Walsh found himself through on goal and only a fingertip save from Robert Hollingsworth saw the shot rebound from the crossbar. This proved to be a decisive save as almost immediately St. Pat's scored an impressive goal to end the game as a contest and led to heartbreak for Bray.

John Walsh, Paul Barry, Oisin O hAnnaidh, Alan Corr; Breandan O hAnnaidh, Dara O hAnnaidh, Luke Benson; Thomas Walsh, Stephen Fox; Ray Lambe, Niall Gaffney, Niall McGraynor; Paddy Moynihan, Brian O Keeffe, Johnathan Kinch Subs: Mikey Browne, Tony Denver, Ronan O Brien, John O Keeffe, Paul Cunninghamn