Jubilant Junior hurlers

3 November, 2012

The jubilant Junior hurlers competed in the final of the B championship Saturday afternoon against Eire Óg Greystones. This was a very tightly contested fixture and went right down to the wire. The Bray defence marshalled by the peerless Billy Brazil and Michael Walsh had to work overtime clearing their lines. Luckily, an accurate Cian O'Byrne kept the scoreboard ticking with a succession of well-taken frees.  At half-time though, Eire Óg led deservedly by one point.   A re-focused Emmet Bhré emerged in the second-half. Tom Cash scored the first point from play for his side. The same player got an equally sweet second, followed quickly by Ben McCormack. Bray Emmets had gained invaluable momentum. In a goal-mouth scramble, Lorcan Pratt managed to emphatically rattle the opposition netting. Despite a Greystones response, Bray Emmets, lead by Tadhg Ó Broin and Craig Brack-Synott had enough in the tank to see the game over the line by 1-10 to 1-8. 

This was a very special victory, savoured in particular by John Ward, Brian Lambe and Decy Glynn, players who are 10 and 12 years on the Junior hurling road. It was another special occasion for the Anders, Dad John and Shane decorated the playing field together this season as well as winning coveted county medals.

Táimid ag tnúth go mór le 2013 agus dóchasach freisin faoi.

Emmet Bhré -  Ryan Tynan, Billy Brazil, Tadhg Ó Broin, Cathal Ó Dúlacháin, Enda Ó Maolmhuaidh, Michael Walsh, Jordan Lee, Lorcan Pratt (1-0), Ben McCormack (0-1), David Ebbs, Willy Nolan (Captaen), Cian O'Byrne (0-7), Shane Anders, Craig Brack-Synott, John Ward. Tom Cash (0-2) for S.Anders, Adam Conway for D.Ebbs. Brian Lambe, Decy Glynn, John Anders.

Bainisteoirí - Pat Lee, Jackie Napier, Michael O'Byrne